Asbestos refers to the six unique substances that belong to the serpentine and amphibole mineral families: 

  • Chrysotile
  • Amosite 
  • Crocidolite 
  • Tremolite 
  • Anthophyllite 
  • Actinolite
These types were adopted by the EPA regulation committee and have been banned in 52 countries. While these are the only recognized types of asbestos there are hundreds of other asbestos-like minerals that have been recognized by the US Bureau of Mines. For example, erionite and taconite are two minerals that contain asbestiform fibers with the potential to cause serious health problems. 

  • Slide Title

    Write your caption here


Is All Asbestos Dangerous?

Yes. Some types may be more hazardous than others, but the US Department of Health, the EPA, and the International Agency for Research on Cancer have classified all types of asbestos as cancer-causing substances. 
It has been discovered that all identified forms of asbestos can cause the following:

  • Lung Cancer
  • Ovarian Cancer
  • Laryngeal Cancer
  • Malignant Mesothelioma
  • Asbestosis

The Health Protection Agency in the UK has determined that the brown asbestos (amosite) and the blue asbestos (claim crocidolite) are the most dangerous forms. 

Call Today
If you notice a substance that looks like asbestos, call the Exclusive Testing Labs in New York immediately. We will take all the necessary steps to ensure that your home is free from this cancer-causing mineral. Call us today if you have any questions. 
  • Slide Title

    Write your caption here

Share by: